A Comprehensive Guide to DUI Laws in Minnesota
5 months ago Byram Charity Comments Off on A Comprehensive Guide to DUI Laws in Minnesota
In the state of Minnesota, the consequences of driving under the influence are two-fold: a department of public safety and a criminal case hearing. But the biggest difference between Minnesota State and other states across the country is that they let suspected drivers to speak to an attorney prior to taking a chemical test to establish their BAC. Also, keep in mind that refusing to take the chemical test in Minnesota will result in a punishable criminal offense.
Most Southern Minnesota dui lawyers assert that a law enforcement officer can make an arrest for different drunk driving crimes. These include;
- Driving with a BAC of 0.08% or more
- If underage (21 years), driving with blood alcohol content of 0.02% or higher
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicating and controlled substances
- If you drive commercial vehicles, driving with blood alcohol content of 0.04% or higher
- Operating a motor vehicle by a driver who already knows that he or she is intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance that impacts the brain, body muscles, or nervous system.
Consequences of DUI arrest and conviction
If you are arrested and convicted for driving under the influence of drugs, your conviction may include driver’s license suspension, fines, mandatory rehabilitation classes, and more. Here are the DUI penalties in Minnesota.
- First DUI conviction: Up to $1000 court fine, a maximum of 90 days potential jail time, and a minimum of 90 days driver’s license suspension.
- Second DUI conviction: Court fines of up to $3000 court fines, a maximum of one year potential jail time, and minimum of 180 days license suspension.
- Third DUI conviction: Up to $3000 fines, about one year potential jail time, and a minimum of one year driver’s license suspension.
- Fourth DUI conviction: A maximum of $14000 court fine, a maximum of four years driver’s license suspension, and a maximum of seven years jail time.
Ignition interlock device
An ignition interlock device for you, the driver convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or other controlled substances to pass a breath test with blood alcohol content of not more than 0.02% before you can drive your own vehicle. Besides, being subjected to the ignition interlock device, the law requires you to pay the installation costs, maintenance, and monthly rental expense of the device.
Tests and implied consent laws
According to the Minnesota State laws, any licensed individual operating a vehicle automatically consents to an approved chemical test (urine, blood, and breath) for the purpose of determining whether or not a driver is intoxicated. Keep in mind that refusing to subject to the test might concur consequences such as license suspension for a year or more. If a law enforcement officer stops you for suspected DUI, you have the right to speak to an attorney before you submit to the tests.
All the relevant chemical tests to determine a driver’s BAC must be carried by a certified medical practitioner.